DOCUMENT the Fresh / Interviews: Ashley Sky Walker

pic2Who or what first got you interested in photography?

 I was first introduced to the art of photography while at Howard university.  While there I was surrounded with friends also interested in the arts. After discussing our dreams and aspirations to do what we saw in the magazines, we decided to start doing our own photo shoots.  From that point on I was hooked on the idea of capturing the beautiful things around me with my camera.

For the entire read click

Early on what were some of the first things that you began to document?pic7

I first began “documenting” the world around me while living in Washington DC.  Photographing every interesting person and cool moment on the street that I saw became my passion.

What is it about photography that you most enjoy?

Photography can be as simple as capturing your grandmother standing in front of you, or as in-depth as molding the lighting and set to make a great shot.  While both images are equally beautiful, they were captured completely different using the same art form.  That’s what I most enjoy about photography.

Talk about the first event and or concert that you shot.  How’d it go?

The first event I was ever supposed to photograph was NERD at The House of Blues on Sunset blvd. Unfortunately I was told there were no large cameras allowed inside.  That’s how that went lol.

Depending on the concert, shooting at them and at live events can be a harrowing experience. Any tricks of the trade on getting the “right” shot?

Get as close ass you can.  As much as your able to make the viewer feel like they were right there with you, the better!

What have been some of your favorite events and or concerts to shoot?

I loved photographing Essence Festival in New Orleans.  The crowd, the energy and the artist are all alined.. Its an awesome experience.  I also enjoyed a recent Mobb pic6Deep concert in LA at HOB…the crowd was diverse and knew every word.

When shooting a show are there specific angles or even signature shots that you like to get?

I love trying to get the crowd and the artist in the same shot.  To be able to capture the hype that the artist causes on the crowd and vise versa is awesome to me.  I also love to get really tight shots on an artist while they are performing.  This way I can really get into the sweaty truth of it all!

Shooting musicians and or groups at an event can be an experience (both good and bad). Any stories that you care to share?pic4

None in particular.. But there is always the battle of other photographers after the same shot. For me that’s a constant experience.  I just try to stay as true to my style as possible.

Who have been some of your favorite artists and or groups that you’ve shot?

Mobb Deep, Badu, Kanye West, Lil Kim, Naughty by Nature, Jennifer Hudson

What kind of gear are you using these days?

I usually shoot with a canon 5d. If I can, a 50mm is my favorite lens to use. Also I have been using my new HTC M8 camera phone, it captures awesome photos at great quality.

tumblr_inline_nnmmqwFYxX1qf3b67_500

Film vs digital?

Digital.

You’ve got a great range of work beyond the events.  Do you have a preference – fashion, social commentary, celebrity, etc..?

I think I prefer social commentary and reportage work.  I like to capture real life.

Why do you think photography has experienced such a resurgence?

I guess with camera phones and apps being a photographer has become easier than ever.

What do you have coming up and or what are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on an exhibition showcasing my photography of black women involved in the protest for modern day civil rights and black life as a whole.

For more info on Ashley Sky Walker click here.

For more info about the upcoming DOCUMENT the Fresh / NYC exhibition click here.

About gmoney77

My name is Gerald Watson and I do lifestyle marketing for various companies/agencies. The purpose of this blog is to highlight the people I work with, the work I do as well as the shit I see on the regular.

Posted on July 13, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

