I am Cognito, I be Plug 4

frolabOur De La Soul happy hour has really allowed for 2-Tone and I to connect with a variety of people (Maseo and Posdnus retweeting our tweets), and the event hasn’t even happened yet.  One person in particular has been Cognito.

I’ve known of Cognito for a minute and the connectivity of Facebook has allowed me to communicate with him directly.  Cognito has contributed immensely to the propagation of Hip Hop culture – to Fat Beats record store operator, touring the world as a member of the underground group massinfluence.  Cognito is more consistently known for documenting legendary hip hop artists such as Mos Def, De La Soul, Talib Kewli, MF Doom, and Kanye West, as well as being the co-founder of Frolab.com, a marketing, design, and production collective.

With the happy hour around the corner I asked Cognito if he wouldn’t mind sharing a story about De La.  Check out what he had to say:

“I feel like 3ft High & Rising is the first hip hop LP that was talking directly to me. Maybe it has to do with the fact we are around the same age and were in high school around the same time that the subject matter of their lyrics spoke to me.”  For more click

I became a fan from the start. I first met them during Howards Homecoming in 1992 when them and Tribe did a concert at a club called the Opera. Me and Pos kept in touch with each other the most. When i started my clothing line “Nonstop Hip Hop” I linked up with them again in Atl the following year at Jack The Rapper where i bummed rushed a table and sold my shirts in the lobby of the hotel. I knew De La was going to be there so i set aside some tees to give them as promo. They showed me mad love and refused to take the shirts for free and all 3 of them bought 2 of every tee we had for sale.”

frolab2
They were nice enough to let me roll with them up the east coast on tour to sell my shirts at the show. Shouts out to Joe Buck (Designed the De La Soul Is dead Cover and other things for De La) who was on the tour selling De La merch. Pos rocked our OHGFRO tee in the “Ego Trippin” video and help put Nonstop on the map.

Proud to call them my brothas!
“Strictly Dan Stuckie”

About gmoney77

My name is Gerald Watson and I do lifestyle marketing for various companies/agencies. The purpose of this blog is to highlight the people I work with, the work I do as well as the shit I see on the regular.

Posted on February 6, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

