DOCUMENT the Fresh – Interviews: Vickey Ford

Who or what first got you interested in photography?

Music, Fashion & my Mom.  Music has always played a big part of my life.  My mother would attend concerts and shared her photos & stories.   My mother took me to see New Edition, the music & the lights …just the whole vibe and emotions that I felt instilled a love of music in me. And I wanted to capture that.  Then the hip-hop scene further intensified my love for photography.

Early on what were some of the first things that you began to document? 

The usual stuff; family, rocks, my feet but that’s when I was a little girl.  When I picked up the camera again as an adult it was my love for live concerts, wanting to capture that moment.

What is it about photography that you most enjoy?

Capturing the essence of that moment—whatever it is. 

For the entire read click


Talk about the first event and or concert that you shot.   How’d it go?

It was a …hmmm should I say a Clusterf*ck…but a memorable one.

Depending on the concert, shooting at them and at live events can be a harrowing experience.  Any tricks of the trade on getting the “right” shot?

To me there are no “right” shots …you are capturing moments, because my “right” shot might not be someone else’s.   So, all that to say trust YOUR eye.

What have been some of your favorite events and or concerts to shoot?

SXSW, Wiz Khalifa –he’s just so animated, such a pleasure to shoot.  The Roots are another favorite of mine.  When you are shooting your favorite artist(s) you tend to get into the groove of shooting because you connect the vibes.

What kind of gear are you using these days?

Ha, whatever I can get my hands on!!!

Film vs digital?

For me digital fulfills our instantaneous needs and film is more of a process.  Both are great, not an either or for me.

Being that you’re a seasoned vet in the event promotions industry, would you say that that experience has helped your photography?  If so, in what ways?

It’s afforded me the opportunity to meet people and gain access to certain situations.

Why do you think photography has experienced such a resurgence?

Everyone has a creative shutter bug and digital has made it easy for anyone to be a “photographer” and honestly some folks have a good eye or great editing skills.

What do you have coming up and or what are you currently working on?

Gearing up a photo project with various DJ’s –ya know gotta keep documenting the fresh!

To view more of Vicky’s work visit her site SNEAK SHOT.

For more info about the DOCUMENT the Fresh photo exhibition click here.

For more info about the DOCUMENT the Fresh panel discussion click here.

About gmoney77

My name is Gerald Watson and I do lifestyle marketing for various companies/agencies. The purpose of this blog is to highlight the people I work with, the work I do as well as the shit I see on the regular.

Posted on October 27, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

