SHAOLIN JAZZ – T-shirts / Graphic Designer Interviews: Vassilina Pljonkina

What’s your name and where are you from?

My name is Vassilina Pljonkina and I’m from Tallinn, Estonia.

Who or what got you interested in design?

Graphic design itself and on the whole is my basic interest – it’s my work and my hobby.

What kinds of projects do you most enjoy?

I like to take a part in contests for designers, especially poster contests. I enjoy these projects, because of minimum requirements and wide opportunities to realize and show my ideas.  Click here to order Vassilina’s SHAOLIN JAZZ graphic tee.  To read more click>>>

Who or what are some of your design inspirations?

Signs, symbols, iconic images, use of them in art and daily life, their visible and secret meanings give me ideas and design inspirations.

Talk about your creative process.

First of all I try to find some “big” idea and after I try to visualize it.

Does music play a role in your design process?

I always listen to music. I can’t say, that I prefer any concrete music style. Music for me can be philosophical, romantic, agressive, neutral, ironic and it helps to modify and reflect required moods in design process.

What are some of your favorite album covers?

Depeche Mode – Sounds Of The Universe, Michael Jackson – Dangerous, Gotan Project – Tango 3.0, Linkin Park – Hybrid Theory.

How did you go about designing your submission for the SHAOLIN JAZZ – Album Cover Design Contest?

First of all, I listened to the whole album a few times and I was interested in this project. I’ve found more information on the internet about the SHAOLIN JAZZ project, musicians, their activity and Album Cover Design Contest. So, I decided to take a part in this interesting project and I designed my version of the album cover.

Did the music from the project influence your design?  If so, how? 

I liked the idea of mix in this project and I tried to use it in my design.

What are you some of your upcoming projects and where can people see your work?

My most recent project is design for billboard named “Illusion” and it will take part this September in 4th International Festival of Art on Billboards in Torun, Poland.

Click here to purchase Vassilina’s SHAOLIN JAZZ inspired graphic T-shirt.

*SHAOLIN JAZZ – PHILA Listening Party – Fri. Sept. 30th. Click here for details.

About gmoney77

My name is Gerald Watson and I do lifestyle marketing for various companies/agencies. The purpose of this blog is to highlight the people I work with, the work I do as well as the shit I see on the regular.

Posted on September 19, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

