SHAOLIN JAZZ – T-shirts / Graphic Designer Interviews: Terrence Knoles

What’s your name and where are you from?

Terrence Knoles. San Francisco, California.

Who or what got you interested in design?

Skateboarding. I grew up in the 90s and skateboarding was at the center of my world. Besides actually pushing the board around, skateboarding served as my mechanism for discovering new music, finding artists and learning about print and logo design. Without it, I may not have ever discovered graphic design.  Click here to order Terrence’s SHAOLIN JAZZ graphic tee.  To read more click>>>

How has your upbringing and or environment inspired you or shaped your design process?

My upbringing is a confluence of American entrepreneurial craftsmen (carpenters, sheet metal fabricators) and Swiss artists.  The DIY ethic they instilled in me has had an enormous impact my design approach.

What kinds of projects do you most enjoy?

Identity/logo design, print layout and artist collaborations. Truthfully, I love it all.

Who or what are some of your design inspirations?

I’m inspired by skateboarding, music and travel. I’ve always been fascinated with the juxtaposition of cultures and how we all share common goals and needs. Truthfully, it’s all the little things in our day-to-day lives that inspire me most.

Talk about your creative process.

My creative process usually begins with brainstorming and some sketching to establish a core concept. Then I really just let the process of discovery take over. I try to make a point to not limit myself, formally, to any initial and/or preconceived vision.

Does music play a role in your design process?

Yes. My first creative endeavors were in music. It has shaped my design approach and listening to music always inspires to create more.

What are some of your favorite album covers?

Minor Threat, Jay-Z: The Blueprint 3, Nirvana: Nevermind, The Beatles: The White Album, and Reid Miles’ work for Blue Note.

How did you go about designing your submission for the SHAOLIN JAZZ – Album Cover Design Contest?

I heard about it through the good folks at Staple Design.

Did the music from the project influence your design?  If so, how? 

Yes, definitely. Every time I hear Wu-Tang I’m immediately transported back to 1993 when I first saw the video for C.R.E.A.M. – you know, back when they actually played music on MTV. It was also at this time that I began playing saxophone and started my formal education in jazz music. And so, to me, SHAOLIN JAZZ proved to be a success because at the very core, Jazz and Wu-Tang share a foundation built by collaborations between equals. Both (Wu-Tang & jazz music) embody a very raw and pure spirit for me, a feeling which I tried to capture in my design.

Was your creative approach with this project different than others?

Nope, my creative approach was the same.

What are you some of your upcoming projects and where can people see your work?

In addition to some client work, I’m excited about putting together the second season of my clothing label/experiment, And Them. Also in the works is volume two of Click.Stop. which is a project that documents the creative process of individuals through the lens of disposable cameras. For updates on And Them you can go to andthemdesign.com and to see Click.Stop. Vol. 1 go to http://issuu.com/andthem/docs/click.stop_v5.

Click here to purchase Terrence’s SHAOLIN JAZZ inspired graphic T-shirt.

*SHAOLIN JAZZ – PHILA Listening Party – Fri. Sept. 30th. Click here for details.

About gmoney77

My name is Gerald Watson and I do lifestyle marketing for various companies/agencies. The purpose of this blog is to highlight the people I work with, the work I do as well as the shit I see on the regular.

Posted on September 19, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

